A feature-by-feature breakdown of the 11 credit card processors DDR scores: rates, fees, payouts, holds, point-of-sale, online checkout, shopping carts and invoicing, verified on each processor's own pages. Last verified November 2026. Choose how you get paid, tick your must-haves, then compare at least two processors that fit: their terms and how they feel to use differ more than their rates suggest.
Set Up Your Comparison
1. How customers pay you
Pick one or more. Only processors we score for every one you pick are shown, with their DDR Score for it.
2. Your monthly card sales
Sets the estimated monthly cost for each processor, in the table and in Feature Match.
Optional. Shows only processors that connect to your store, and adds its fee on outside processors. Picking one adds Online.
Lowest estimated cost at $10K a month ($45 in-person sales): Helcim, about $234 a month. Each processor's estimate is the first row of Pricing & Fees; for your own sale size and mix, use the fee calculator.
7 Credit Card Processors for In-Person Payments, Compared Side by Side
Tap or click any ◐ / Varies cell for details · Click again to pin
Dotted underline = feature confirmed, exact plan tier unconfirmed
Estimated monthly cost at $10K
$234Lowest
$257
$257
$299
$294
$289
$292
Pricing model
Interchange plus
Flat rate
Flat rate
Flat rate
Flat rate
Membership
Flat rate
Flat or variable rate
Variable, by card
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Variable, by card
Flat
In-person rate
Interchange + 0.40% + 8¢
2.5%
2.29% + 9¢
2.6% + 15¢
2.60% + 12¢
Interchange + 8¢
2.6% + 10¢
Typed-in card rate
Interchange + 0.50% + 25¢
3.5%
3.39% + 29¢
3.5% + 15¢
3.50% + 15¢
Interchange + 15¢
3.5% + 10¢
Monthly fee
$0
$0
$0
$0
$0 (Mobile)
$99+
$0 (Go)
Chargeback/dispute fee
$15
$15
$20
$0Lowest
Not published
Not published
Not published
No contract or cancellation fee
✓
✓
✓
✓
✕
✕
◐
Volume discounts published
Automatic
On request
On request
On request
On request
Automatic
Not stated
Standard payout speed
1 to 2 days
Next day
1 to 3 days
Next day
Same day with U.S. Bank checking
Next day
1 to 3 days
Same-day or weekend payouts
✕
✓
✓
✓
◐
✕
✓
Instant payout and fee
✕
✓
✓
✓
◐
✕
✓
First-payout delay stated
✓
✓
✓
✕
✕
◐
◐
Hold/reserve policy published
✓
✓
✓
✓
✓
✓
◐
Free point-of-sale app
✓
✓
✓
✓
✓
✕
✓
Card reader entry price
$199
$79
$29 then $79Lowest
$59
$49 then $89
$125
$199
Tap to Pay on a phone
✓
✓
✓
✓
✓
✕
✓
Offline payments
✕
✕
✕
✓
✕
✕
✓
Tips
✓
✓
✓
✓
✓
✕
◐
What applying involves is published
✓
✓
✓
✓
✕
✓
✕
Credit check
No hard check
May
May
Not stated
May
May
Yes
✓Included✕Not available◐Partial / plan-gatedAdd‑onAdd-onVariesVaries by planTap any product for detail
Estimated monthly cost at $10K
Helcim$234
Lowest
GoDaddy Payments$257
PayPal$257
Square$299
U.S. Bank Payment Solutions$294
Stax$289
Clover$292
Pricing model
HelcimInterchange plus
GoDaddy PaymentsFlat rate
PayPalFlat rate
SquareFlat rate
U.S. Bank Payment SolutionsFlat rate
StaxMembership
CloverFlat rate
Flat or variable rate
HelcimVariable, by card
GoDaddy PaymentsFlat
PayPalFlat
SquareFlat
U.S. Bank Payment SolutionsFlat
StaxVariable, by card
CloverFlat
In-person rate
HelcimInterchange + 0.40% + 8¢
GoDaddy Payments2.5%
PayPal2.29% + 9¢
Square2.6% + 15¢
U.S. Bank Payment Solutions2.60% + 12¢
StaxInterchange + 8¢
Clover2.6% + 10¢
Typed-in card rate
HelcimInterchange + 0.50% + 25¢
GoDaddy Payments3.5%
PayPal3.39% + 29¢
Square3.5% + 15¢
U.S. Bank Payment Solutions3.50% + 15¢
StaxInterchange + 15¢
Clover3.5% + 10¢
Monthly fee
Helcim$0
GoDaddy Payments$0
PayPal$0
Square$0
U.S. Bank Payment Solutions$0 (Mobile)
Stax$99+
Clover$0 (Go)
Chargeback/dispute fee
Helcim$15
GoDaddy Payments$15
PayPal$20
Square$0
Lowest
U.S. Bank Payment SolutionsNot published
StaxNot published
CloverNot published
No contract or cancellation fee
Helcim✓
GoDaddy Payments✓
PayPal✓
Square✓
U.S. Bank Payment Solutions✕
Stax✕
Clover◐
Volume discounts published
HelcimAutomatic
GoDaddy PaymentsOn request
PayPalOn request
SquareOn request
U.S. Bank Payment SolutionsOn request
StaxAutomatic
CloverNot stated
Standard payout speed
Helcim1 to 2 days
GoDaddy PaymentsNext day
PayPal1 to 3 days
SquareNext day
U.S. Bank Payment SolutionsSame day with U.S. Bank checking
StaxNext day
Clover1 to 3 days
Same-day or weekend payouts
Helcim✕
GoDaddy Payments✓
PayPal✓
Square✓
U.S. Bank Payment Solutions◐
Stax✕
Clover✓
Instant payout and fee
Helcim✕
GoDaddy Payments✓
PayPal✓
Square✓
U.S. Bank Payment Solutions◐
Stax✕
Clover✓
First-payout delay stated
Helcim✓
GoDaddy Payments✓
PayPal✓
Square✕
U.S. Bank Payment Solutions✕
Stax◐
Clover◐
Hold/reserve policy published
Helcim✓
GoDaddy Payments✓
PayPal✓
Square✓
U.S. Bank Payment Solutions✓
Stax✓
Clover◐
Free point-of-sale app
Helcim✓
GoDaddy Payments✓
PayPal✓
Square✓
U.S. Bank Payment Solutions✓
Stax✕
Clover✓
Card reader entry price
Helcim$199
GoDaddy Payments$79
PayPal$29 then $79
Lowest
Square$59
U.S. Bank Payment Solutions$49 then $89
Stax$125
Clover$199
Tap to Pay on a phone
Helcim✓
GoDaddy Payments✓
PayPal✓
Square✓
U.S. Bank Payment Solutions✓
Stax✕
Clover✓
Offline payments
Helcim✕
GoDaddy Payments✕
PayPal✕
Square✓
U.S. Bank Payment Solutions✕
Stax✕
Clover✓
Tips
Helcim✓
GoDaddy Payments✓
PayPal✓
Square✓
U.S. Bank Payment Solutions✓
Stax✕
Clover◐
What applying involves is published
Helcim✓
GoDaddy Payments✓
PayPal✓
Square✓
U.S. Bank Payment Solutions✕
Stax✓
Clover✕
Credit check
HelcimNo hard check
GoDaddy PaymentsMay
PayPalMay
SquareNot stated
U.S. Bank Payment SolutionsMay
StaxMay
CloverYes
Tap any product to see the detail. The full side-by-side grid is available on larger screens.
Coming soon to this matrix
Reporting and data export, hardware locked to its processor, international and multi-currency selling, and paid dispute-protection add-ons, once each is checked on every processor's own pages.
PayPal is built into Shopify, and Clover and Authorize.net have official Shopify apps. Square works only through an app from another company, and Stripe can't be added separately where Shopify Payments is offered, including the US. Shopify adds a fee of 2% (Basic plan) to 0.2% (Plus) on orders paid through any outside processor, so most Shopify stores use Shopify Payments.
Which payment processors have no contract or cancellation fee?
Square, Stripe, PayPal, Helcim and GoDaddy Payments state no long-term contract or cancellation fee. Authorize.net shows its all-in-one account terms only when you sign up. Stax's terms include a $750 deconversion fee when you leave, U.S. Bank's linked terms set a three-year term, and Clover's terms depend on who sells it to you.
Which processors let clients pay invoices by bank transfer, and what does it cost?
All eight processors scored for invoices accept customer bank transfers (ACH). Caps matter on large invoices: Stripe and Zoho cap the fee at $5 (Stripe adds its 0.4% Invoicing fee on top), Helcim at $6, PayPal, Stax and GoDaddy (on its Plus plan) at $10, and Square at $10 only on its paid plans. QuickBooks charges 1% with no cap on standard pricing.
Which processors offer instant payouts?
Square, Stripe, PayPal, GoDaddy Payments, Clover and QuickBooks Payments offer instant or same-day payouts for a fee of about 1.5% to 1.95%; Zoho offers them on request, any day including weekends. Helcim and Stax don't offer instant payouts.
How do I use this comparison?
Choose how you get paid with the tabs at the top, then tick the features you need. The Feature Match table shows which processors have all of them and the plan you'd need. For what each would cost at your volume, use the fee calculator; for the full DDR Scores, see the category page.